Club Nissan Homepage

Forum Home Forum Home » Model Specific » Micra
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Leaking Micra - Wet Footwell - Help Needed

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dunkle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Leaking Micra - Wet Footwell - Help Needed
    Posted: 18 September 2012 at 20:22
Hi

Joined here as maybe someone can help 
Im a non driver but my other half owns and drives a 52 plated Nissan Micra Tempest

Of late we have experienced a problem in that when it rains we get a wet floor in the passenger footwell

The water seems to come from somewhere behind or under the glove box area (the drips come about where the driving controls would be is they where on that side, is that makes sense)

The heavier the rain, the worse the drips

Now I have cleaned out the gutters at the side of the door
I have managed to use a thin piece of wire to clean these out fully and they seem to run off to the drain behind the wheel ok but still we get the leak

I have no idea what else to try and hope someone here can help (mainly in idiots languages as, like said im a non driver, and maybe even with pics)

Anyone able to solve this ?
crazytaxi View Drop Down
Management
Management
Board Cleaning God

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote crazytaxi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 September 2012 at 22:50
It is most likely the rain is getting in through the sunroof, check the drain outlets (usually in the wheel arches, you'll find rubber hoses) give them a squeeze to get rid of any crap that is blocking them.

It is rare, but you can get blockages further up the drains, these can be cleared by slipping a thin flexible yet sturdy wire down the drain holes at the sunroof but you need to be carefull not to push the drain tube off the drain hole.

Don't ask me, i just work here!
dunkle View Drop Down